Aaman Trikha: Being praised by SRK is surreal!

July 28, 2017

Aaman Trikha speaks about lending his voice to the Baadshah of Bollywood Shah Rukh Khan, his bucket list of music directors he wants to work with and more

Aaman Trikha’s latest song ‘Butterfly’ in Imtiaz Ali’s upcoming film Jab Harry Met Sejal, starring Shah Rukh Khan and Anushka Sharm, is already topping the music chartbusters. In a candid chat, he speaks about singing for A-listers in Bollywood, his inspiration and his upcoming projects. Excerpts from the interview…

(null)

Butterfly’ happens to be your first song with Shah Rukh Khan. How were you approached for the song?

Yes it is and the first ones are always special. I want to immensely thank Pritam da, Imtiaz sir and the producers for giving me this opportunity to be the voice of Shah Rukh sir.  As soon as the song was played to me in the studio, I was instantly hooked on to Pritam da’s catchy melody and Irshad ji’s beautiful lyrics. The out and out Punjabi flavour grew more on me as I started recording the song and enjoyed the whole experience to the core.

Shah Rukh also recently praised you for the song on micro-blogging site. How does it feel?

Oh, the feeling is quite surreal! And being the biggest superstar, how generously he interacts and acknowledges is something very heartening. It was a pretty sweet gesture on his part to write that I had given life to the song, and I’ll cherish that forever. I’m ever thankful for this kindness. It’s every singer’s dream in Bollywood to sing for King Khan and for me it was extra special as I’ve been one huge fan of his persona and the kind of passion, hard work he instils in his work.

anushka-sharma-srk-759

You have sung for most of the A-listers in Bollywood. How do you look at your journey in the music industry so far?

I’m thankful to God to introduce to those music composers who gave me the opportunities to sing for from Amitabh Bachchan to Salman Khan. The journey wasn’t smooth for sure, but every day every experience leaves a lot to gather and learn.

Do you have a list of people you would want to work with in future? If yes, who is topping the list currently?

There are so many who inspire me and whom I want to work with. The list tops AR Rahman , Vishal Bharadwaj, Sanjay Leela Bhansali , MM Kreem , Shankar-Ehsaan-Loy, Amit Trivedi, Mithoon , Vishal – Shekhar , Sachin-Jigar , Amaal Mallik ,Sajid – Wajid , Tanishk to name a few. And there are so many new composers who are superb and it would be great fun working with them.

Who do you consider as your mentor from the industry?

Every person who holds true in my musical journey has taught me something or the other. Starting from my Guruji, Ustaad Maqbool Husain Khan saab who identified the passion I had for my music to Himesh ji who believed in me. Since then he’s always been a great mentor. Ram Sampath sir, Ismail Darbar ji and Pritam Da too have been great guiding lights and I get to learn not just about technical nuances, but also about the life lessons.

aaman-trikha-shah-rukh-khan

Who other budding singers do you think has high potentials?

There are a lot of them. Naming one and not the other won’t be right on my part.

How difficult is singing in languages not known to one?

It’s quite a challenging task. But I love to sing them. I love the vibe each language offers to you. One has to think of itself as a native of that particular language and then get your grammar and dialect right. Otherwise, you may be grammatically right but a wrong dialect won’t make you connect with that language audience. And then there are translators to help you out if you get stuck somewhere during the recording.

Have you received formal training in singing? How important do you think it is to be formally trained before singing?

Yes, I’ve been learning Hindustani Classical Music under the guidance of Ustaad Maqbool Husain Khan from Rampur Sahaswaan Gharana. It’s a prestigious asset to have as a singer. In my view, the formal training is utmost essential if your aim is to be a playback singer, because it gives your voice that versatility with control. It enriches and polishes the voice for the best which helps you to understand melody and rhythm more efficiently.

Did you always wanted to be a singer?

Music always fascinated me since childhood and playing keyboards was one of y favourite hobbies. In 2005, I was in my first year engineering when I discovered that I could sing. Since then, I had always aimed to be into this music industry and carve my niche here.

Tell us something about your upcoming projects.

There are loads of projects that I’ve recorded for, but unaware of its releasing status. So once that is clear, I’d love to share them.  I’m exploring into independent music scene as well and coming up with my single called ‘Ishquaa’ which is a romantic melody.  Plus there’s another romantic song which I’ve done for a Marathi movie called ‘Fakt Ekdaach’ and a motivational song for an upcoming Gujarati movie.

Leave a Reply

