Sumedh Mudgalkar: I always wanted to be an actor!

June 25, 2017

Sumedh Mudgalkar speaks about his upcoming Marathi film, his love for acting and more

sumedh 2

After his claim to fame from a dance reality show, Sumedh Mudgalkar made his acting debut in Dil Dosti Dance. He also won hearts with his negative stint in Chakarvarti Ashoka Samrat. Now, the young lad is all set to make his foray into the films with an upcoming Marathi film titled Manjha. In a candid chat, he speaks about working with veteran actress Ashvini Bhave and taking up negative character at the start of his career. Excerpts…

How did Manjha come your way?

I was called up for this role but I wasn’t able to get on board as I was supposed to start some other project. Surprisingly, that project got scrapped. Here they tested me for this role and fortunately I’m was chosen.

How was it working with Ashvini Bhave?

You really do have a little anxiety when it comes to working with senior actors. But here, my experience was really comfortable, she is humble, she got us comfortable I can say. It was a pleasure to work with Ashvini ma’am.

You claim to fame was a dance reality show. How did this change from dancing to acting came about?

I always wanted to be an actor. I was just waiting for an opportunity to understand how it works, and how I should go ahead with it. Gradually, I got the answers.

What do you enjoy the most dancing or acting?

I equally love both. But lately I’m more into acting.

Although you made your acting debut in Dil Dosti Dance, your turning point was Chakarvarti Ashoka Samrat. Did you have any reservation before doing the negative character at the start of your career?

It was a difficult decision ofcourse, but somehow I wasn’t worried about my on-screen image getting affected. I just wanted to learn acting as much as I could through the show to make myself capable enough to go for big roles in future.

What are the responses you have been getting for the trailer of Manjha?

I am overwhelmed with the response. I felt really good seeing others liking it. My people are curious to know about the subject the movie is based on. The film is releasing on July 21 and my fans just can’t wait to watch me on the big screen.

Where do you see yourself in the next five years?

I prefer not to think about it for a reason. But I hope everything would be fine.

Tell us something about your upcoming projects?

We’re in taking terms now. So there’s nothing confirmed as yet.

Leave a Reply

