Vishal Mishra: Salman is a mentor and guide to me!

June 18, 2017

Vishal Mishra speaks about working with the actor for a Marathi song, actors making their foray into singing and more

Vishal Mishra 2

Vishal Mishra is currently riding high on his career. With his kitty full of projects, the composer-singer spills the beans on his upcoming projects, his desire to come up with singles and significance of singing reality shows. Excerpts from the interview…

Tell us something about the song, ‘Pyaar Ho’.
The song happened because of Sabbir sir’s vision. He was very clear about what kind of song he wanted for Tiger and Munna Michael because this is the only love ballad that we had and he inspired me to create this tune. It is a very feel good and romantic ballad which is sung and composed by me. Sunidhi Chouhan has sung the song with me. ‘Pyaar ho’ is very special to me.

How were you approached for Munna Michael?
I had met Sabbir sir during Baaghi and the interesting part is that I sang ‘Sab tera’ in the initial version of the song. Then later on Armaan Malik did a very good job with that. He liked my voice and he also heard some of my compositions and he became very fond of them. For this movie he called up and said he wanted me to do a song and then ‘Pyaar Ho’ happened.

You had Salman Khan and Iulia Vantur sing for you. How was your experience working with them?
Working with Salman or Iulia or anybody who is at the epitome of their talent is very learning. It feels wonderful to see how people who are at the top of their game are so humble. Salman is like a mentor and guide to me. I love him for everything. It is always a blessing to share a stage or a song or anything ever with him.

Was it difficult for Salman to mouth Marathi lyrics? How do you think he fared as a singer?
Surprisingly, I was expecting him to finish the recording in like two-three hours but he finished it in 45 minutes. His knowledge in Marathi is better than me for sure. Together we cracked it and Gacchi happened, I am glad that it did.

inset

You have composed about 14 songs for FU-Friendship Unlimited. Tell us about your experience working on those compositions.
It was a lifetime experience. Composing 14 songs and giving two years of your life is hard and creatively draining. Now when I look back at it, I feel very grateful that it happened. I believe any opportunity where you get to compose so much and learn so much is great.

You have been a participant and winner of a singing reality show. How much does a reality show help a budding singer?
Reality shows just gives you a platform and makes your struggle time a little less. It gives you a lot of confidence as you get used to singing in front of people. But otherwise I guess the struggle is same and it teaches you how to uphold yourself and how to go ahead with your career. For me it was a blessing at it gave me an opportunity to stay back in this city. All said and done, you have to do your hard work and you have to be good at what you do.

There are so many actors who are trying their hand in singing. What are your thoughts on the same?
I think it is very good for the industry. They all are very good at it. I feel it eventually helps Bollywood. Well, I am game. Hopefully, I will be part of songs where actors would be singing for me.

Do you think professional training in music is necessary in today’s age of digitalisation and technology?
I think basic training of anything is very necessary because it is important for you to know what you are doing. But then there is no substitute to hard work. One has to be prepared for all the opportunities that we get.

Do you have any acting aspirations?
Someday I want to be an actor in a movie that I direct and only I watch (laughs). No aspirations as such. I just want to concentrate on my music. I criticise my music the most and if I will be good at it, I will be very happy.

With singles making their comeback, do you have anything on the lines any time soon?
Nothing to be announced but I am working on like six songs that I always wanted to express. Hopefully it will be out by the end of the year. People will get to know what is there in my heart. While composing songs for movies you are given deadlines and you are under pressure. But it is beautiful in its own sense. But in singles it is all about you. So I would love to express myself through a single.

Leave a Reply

