Gippy Grewal: Bohemia has a unique voice texture!

June 18, 2017

Gippy Grewal on his latest foot-tapping track, potentials of rapping in India and more

Actor Gippy Grewal (4)

Gippy Grewal’s latest peppy track, ‘Car Nachdi’ has recorded a million hits within a few days of it release. This song is his yet another successful collaboration with Bohemia. In a candid chat, he speaks about the inception of the song, his association with Bohemia and actors singing in movies. Excerpts…

How did ‘Car Nachdi’ happen?

It happened with much difficulty.  I had visited USA about two and a half years ago and there I saw some low riders that you don’t see it here so commonly. Then I had composed a song where I had used these cars. But I found this the concept of cars so amazing that I didn’t think it would be worth to use them in that song and that it required a special song. So I did not release the song that I had composed then. I wanted to use them in a video where those cars would be required in real sense. Then I came up with a concept where a boy is telling a girl that when he sees her, not only his hear but also his car dances for her.

This is your yet another hit with Bohemia. Tell us about your association with him.

I have known Bohemia for a long time now. Our first song came out in 2006-07. We come out with our track in every two years or so. The kind of voice texture that Bohemia has, not every kind of song suits him. When I came up with Car Nachdi, I thought with the kind of beats the song has, if it would have Bohemia’s rap in it, it would have an international appeal.  I approached him with the song. He liked it and agreed to do it.  I have worked with many rappers, but the kind of voice that Bohemia has, it is something different.

19051823_117759758816342_5846567752583610368_n-e1497332017220

What do you think about the popularity of rappers as compared to the regular Bollywood singers?

I believe that people who do good work do get recognised; be it Honey Singh or Badshah or Raftaar for that matter. We have number of movie singers but rappers we have only a handful of them. When more and more people will take up rapping, it also will gain popularity. For example, Bohemia is not a Bollywood singer. He has an altogether different zone of singing. And he is the best in what he does. Badshah was the first one to listen to the first line of the song ‘Car Nachdi’. He told me this is going to be a hit. So it is all about hard work. The ones who will work hard will grow.

You have been one person who has not only been a successful actor but also highly appreciated and accepted singer. However actors in bollywood have been at the receiving end for trying their hand in singing. What is your take on the same?

I think people appreciate what is good irrespective of anything. I have sung songs, acted in films and also directed films. Farhan Akhtar in Bollywood has been one fine example of someone who is not only known for his acting skills but also his singing. So I don’t see a problem with actors trying their hand at singing.

Leave a Reply

