Neha Bhasin: Never stopped producing independent music

15 October, 2016

Singer Neha Bhasin speaks about her new single ‘Laung Gawacha’ and the comeback of singles

4Neha-Bhasin-1

Neha Bhasin, who is known for her conventional voice, recently received critical acclaims for her acoustic version of the song ‘Jag Ghoomeya’ from Sultan. In a candid conversation, the singer speaks about independent music, trends in Bollywood and more…

Tell us something about your new single.
My new single is a very popular folk song titled ‘Laung Gawacha’ and my take on it is very sexy and is a lounge mix that one can hear in social meet-up places with your date or on a drive and can sway to it too. It’s addictive and I have the best team that worked on its music and mix.

How did you come up with the idea for the single?
I sang ‘Laung Gawacha’ for Sameeruddin for an ad and the 30 seconds commercial went viral and then my fans had me asking for a full version. So I decided to come up with the entire version through a single.

You have a very unconventional voice. Who else in the industry do you think has an unconventional voice?
I feel Shilpa Rao and Rekha Bhardwaj too have a very unconventional voice in the industry.

The trends of singles are back. Please comment.
I, actually, never stopped producing independent music so for me nothing has changed.

Your version of ‘Jag Ghoomeya’ received rave reviews and is still being loved by the audience. How did you bag the song?
Director Ali Abbas Zafar wanted me to record the song and Vishal and Shekhar contacted Sameer to produce an acoustic version with me. Sameer and I have been doing acoustic music for some time with raw vocals.

Are you a fan of Indian pop songs from the 90s? If yes, which is your favourite one?
I have fond memories of Baba Sehgal.

With actors trying their hands in singing, do you think the importance and demand of playback singers will in some way get affected?
It doesn’t matter if the song is sung by a playback singer or an actor. Eventually, talent prevails.

From amongst actors who have tried their hand in singing, who do you think has a real or close potential?
None of them in India.

Music composers/ directors you would like to work with?
I would like to work with anyone who has a good vision for my voice and a good song.

An actress you would like to lend your voice to?
I would like to lend my voice to Parineeti Chopra.

Leave a Reply

