Manoj: Don’t regret not doing masala films

15 July, 2016

Manoj Bajpayee speaks about being part of good films, reuniting with Tabu and more

maxresdefault

Amongst all the Bollywood actors, Manoj Bajpayee has always been class apart. Right from his choice of films to the characters he has portrayed so far, he has time and again proved his mettle. After giving back to back films like Aligarh and Traffic, which gained critical appraisal from both critics and audience, he is back again with yet another tale that one cannot afford to miss, Budhia Singh- Born To Run.

Speaking about his character in the film, Manoj Bajpayee said, “I have taken up the character because I had a genuine interest in him, I mean the real guy and since then I wanted to play him. Fortunately, it has come into my lap. What is great about him is that he was a fantastic guy but I don’t know why the society has gone against him and levelled charged against him by calling him a child exploiter. Now that he is not alive there is nobody to look after the kid. He lives in a hostel without any guidance or training.”

Although the actor received rave reviews for his negative stint in Tevar, he says he won’t be doing it again so soon. “I don’t think I am doing any negative role so soon again. I have not finalised my next film as yet. I really don’t know what I am going to do next,” Manoj added.

When asked if he has been trying his hand in the west too, he said, “There have been no such offers as yet. I will decide if any such project comes up. I have not been trying my hands specifically in that as I haven’t been doing films in other languages. So I don’t usually think about it.”

The actor will soon reunite with his friend and co-star Tabu in his forthcoming thriller Missing. Speaking about the same, he averred, “I am looking forward to working with Tabu again. She is a very close friend of mine for about 17-18 years now. We have a mutual admiration. It is great to be associated with her again in Missing. We enjoyed making the film.”

Does he feel he is missing out on something by not doing commercial masala films? “I don’t regret not doing commercial masala films. There are people who can do it and they are doing it pretty well. They are doing much better than me. It is not that all commercially successful films will be remembered in the future and similarly not all critically acclaimed films will do well at the box-office. What is important is that we be a part of a good film,” he concluded.

Leave a Reply

