Himanshu: I share a great equation with Anand L Rai

13 April, 2016

Himanshu Sharma speaks about his bond with the director and about his plans of turning into a director

Himanshu-Sharma

After bagging a National Award for his dialogues and story in Tanu Weds Manu Returns, Himanshu Sharma is eyeing to don the director’s hat next. The writer, who shares a special bond with director Anand L Rai, speaks about his association with him, his upcoming ventures and more. Excerpts from the interview…

Tell us something about your background.
I did my graduation from Delhi University. After this, I had nothing better to do so I joined as a writer with a news channel. Then a couple of friends of mine were coming to Mumbai so flew in with them in 2004. After coming here I started working as an assistant director and realised I am not good at that job. I assisted Vijay Krishna Acharya in Tashan. It was not that I had a special liking towards writing as such. But I liked reading and telling stories. So I thought I should try my hand in writing. I knew Anand from the time I came to Mumbai. So I developed Tanu Weds Manu for him.

Do you have aspirations of turning to direction?
Yes, I would want to turn to direction eventually. I have a story for like two years now. But I haven’t got any time to pen it down. After getting done with whatever I am doing currently, I will write this down. Hopefully, by next year I should be able to pitch it to actors.

Tell us something about the film.
The one that I am working on is like an absolute unadulterated Hindi picture with all those melodrama, songs and dances. It is basically a family drama. It is the story about two brothers set in Uttar Pradesh.

Actors you would like to work with?
I have been a big fan of Shah Rukh Khan all my life. And I really like Ranbir Kapoor a lot. I have always loved every performance of his. He is a tremendous actor. I hope someday I offer them something worth it. As far actresses are concerned, I have worked with Kangana Ranaut. She is a fantastic actress. Apart from her, I am a great fan of Kareena Kapoor Khan. I really like her work.

6Aanand-L-Rai-1

You have been with Anand L Rai for the longest of time. Tell us something about him.
I have a great equation with him. The best thing about him is that it is me who tells him let’s get on to this kind of a story. It has to be my story idea, my concept, my dialogues and all. So, I just have to tell him that this is the basic plot and within a week or so he makes up his mind to do that film. Instead of him telling me what to work on it has always been the other way round. This gives me a kind of freedom that my emotional state of mind is allowing me to do.

Leave a Reply

