Ashwiny: Do something that reflects you!

10 April, 2016

Ashwiny Iyer Tiwari speaks about her forthcoming film Nil Battey Sannata starring Swara Bhaskar in the lead

ashwini_iyer_tedx

She won a National Award for her first short film, What’s for breakfast? And then there was no stopping her. Ashwiny Iyer Tiwari, who has already garnered acclaims for her upcoming film Nil Battey Sannata starring Swara Bhaskar, is keeping her hopes high as the film is all set to hit the theatres on April 22. In a candid conversation she speaks about the inception of the film, its Tamil version and her upcoming projects. Excerpts from the interview…

 

How did you come up with such a topic?
The idea of the film actually propped up in my husband, Nitesh Tiwari’s mind. He bounced it off to me and asked what I think about it. I got excited as it has a message that has been told in a very pertaining way and I wanted to tell a story to the society from which they will take something back home. That’s how Nil Battey Sannata happened.

What made you think Swara would fit the bill?
Swara has always done movies which are like firebrand. The best part about Swara is that she is hard working. She goes out of her way to get into her character. She has also improvised what she already has. I feel she is like a school going kid, the studious girl in the class who does all her homework and is perfect. She is very good with her language. The way she speaks and delivers her dialogues is really good. It has weight in whatever she does. Nitesh was the one who suggested Swara and it has been stuck in my mind ever since. I didn’t have the chance to think of anyone else. She fitted in perfectly.

the-new-classmate

The Tamil version of the film will be releasing too…
It happened because of Dhanush, Anand L Rai and my husband. After the Hindi one, Dhanush called me up and said if I made it in Tamil, because I know the language, it would be nicer. There is my soul in the film and I can carry that soul in Tamil also. Even Anand Rai insisted I do it. I was just uncomfortable with leaving my children behind and shooting. I am also not used to that side of the industry. And I really didn’t know anyone there apart from Dhanush. I was in a dilemma whether to do it or not. Then Nitesh told me that this is a lifetime opportunity and I shouldn’t miss it. Now, I am glad I did it because I got to work with the best of people. Ilayaraja gave music for the film.

On Aamir Khan praising the trailer of Nil Battey Sannata…
It is really heart-warming. I didn’t expect that so it is a nice feeling. The hopes are so high that I hope I don’t put people down.

Would you love to direct a film of different genre sometime?
It depends on what kind of stories I get. I don’t mind doing love stories. In fact, my next is a love story which I cannot talk about right now. You just have to do something you believe in and that reflects you.

Any genre that doesn’t interest you?
I would never do a Sci-fi or an action movie because that is not me. It doesn’t reflect me. I don;t even know how action films are made.

Leave a Reply

