Shweta Sharma: I am very comfortable with my body

11 October, 2015

Shweta Sharma, who will be seen making her debut with forthcoming film Charlie Kay Chakkar Mein, speaks about her background, Bollywood aspirations and more

b4

After shaking a leg with popular celebrities like Hrithik Roshan, Katrina Kaif, Bipasha Basu and others, Shweta Sharma is all set to make her full-fledged Bollywood debut with Naseeruddin Shah starrer, Charlie Kay Chakkar Mein. Excerpts from the interview…

How did you bag the item number in Charlie Kay Chakkar Mein?
Karan Arora, who is the producer of the film, saw me at an event and offered this item number to me. He was so impressed with my stage presence that I did not have to go through auditions but just a simple screen test. The promotional song ‘I am Single ready to mingle’ is picturised on me and is a very seductive song sung by Neha Kakkar in her sexy voice. I have done umpteen shows with Neha and we decided to something really extraordinary with this song. You will also see me in the title song of Charlie Kay Chakkar Mein which is a racy number sung by Abhijeet Sawant.

Tell us something about the film.
The film is an investigative thriller which unravels a murder mystery. Naseeruddin Shah plays a pivotal role of a tough cop Sanket Pujari who is bound to crack this case. The film features well-known award winning actors. Charlie is also slang for cocaine.

Tell us something about your background.
I am born and brought up in Delhi. I started dancing from the age of four and have been professionally trained. I never thought my passion for performing arts will take me across the globe performing alongside some of India’s renowned artists. I have shared the stage with Bollywood celebrities and recently appeared alongside south superstar Shuba Raju, Kalyani in Telugu film Agnatham.

You have shared stage with Hrithik Roshan, Katrina Kaif and Mika. Tell us more about it.
Not only Hrithik, Katrina and Mika but I have shared stage with ace artistes like Honey Singh, Atif Aslam, Euphoria, Sivamani, KK, Gulshan Grover, Neeraj Shridhar, Sunidhi Chauhan, Yana Gupta, Shaan, Sukhbir, Aditya Narayan, Chunky Pandey, Neha Dhupia, Bipasha Basu, Konkona Sen Sharma, Mika, Jazzy B, Aryans to name a few. Mika is a very dear friend and I have done numerous rocking shows with him. I remember one instance where I was opening the stage for Bipasha Basu; she saw my performance and complemented me later on my dance skills. I was truly elated.

How open are you on doing bold scenes?
It will sound very cliché but for me if the script demand certain type of intimacy and is an integral part of portraying a story, I will not shy away from it. I am very comfortable with my body and have no qualms about portraying a specific role because at the end of the day, it’s a character and a role. But yes, doing bold scenes for just the heck of TRPs is not my cup of tea.

One actor or actress you would want to do a film with?
I am a big fan of Salman Khan and I would love to share screen space with him.
Acting or dancing, what is more close to your heart?
Dancing hands down! It’s not only my passion but has over the years given me fame and recognition. I love being called dancing diva.

A director you wish to work with and why?
Oh! It’s a long list from Imtiaz Ali to Prakash Jha. I want to work with all the ace directors in the industry.

What are your Bollywood aspirations?
Though, I have done films down south, Charlie Kay Chakkar Mein marks my debut in Bollywood. Now, sky is the limit for me. I want to do some chart-buster numbers and create a niche for myself in this industry.

Any future projects?
I have a few in the pipeline and have already signed another item number in a Bollywood film under a very well-known banner. But I can’t divulge more details. You will have to wait and watch!

Views: 95

Tags

Leave a Reply

