Amyra Dastur: I have grown up listening to Sonu sir

18 November, 2015

Amyra Dastur speaks about her latest music video ‘Aa bhi jaa tu kahin se’ with singer Sonu Nigam

fbf943f351b0cecc0d7b544dd8c1b0d4

Amyra Dastur, who was last seen in Emraan Hashmi starrer Mr X, is quite elated with her latest music video getting extremely good response. The pretty actress speaks about working with Sonu Nigam and Anubhav Sinha in the video. Excerpts from an interview.

How was your experience working with Sonu Nigam in your first ever musical album?
I can’t believe the response it is getting. It is extremely flawless. I am very happy. It is a dream-come-true moment for me to work with Sonu Nigam and Anubhav Sinha. I have grown up listening to Sonu sir. His song ‘Abhi mujhme kahin’ from Agneepath is my favourite. I just love the song.

How did you bag the role in the music video?
Anubhav sir called up my agency and asked if there were any fresh faces and they recommended my name. He had heard about me because of Mr X and so I went to meet him. I was very nervous the first time I met him. Again, after a week I happen to meet him and this time I opened up a little more, I talked to him freely and my actual personality came out. He asked me why wasn’t I like this the first time we met and I told him that I was intimidated by him then. He said that he was really glad that we got to work together. It has been an extremely good experience.

CTGqiunVEAE5Ftc

Sonu and Anubhav have worked together before, how did you fit in?
They have this really nice bromance between them. They have an amazing understanding between each other. Anubhav didn’t have to explain much to me either. Anubhav sir is really particular about everything so our characters and behaviour and looks were all meticulously planned. There were no arguments. Everything went off very smoothly.

How did you prepare for the role?
Anubhav didn’t want anything to look fake in the video so he made me practice for two hours for three days in his office. He also kept coming in and watching it as well. He got in a professional to teach me the mannerisms while playing. He is very keen to ask people to get your own input. He doesn’t rely on his judgement which I find very good thing that makes you a very good director. He kept asking instructor if it looked believable.

Leave a Reply

