Bhuvan: Want to do comedy or thriller movies

1 December, 2016

Bhuvan Bam of BB Ki Vines fame speaks his heart out about his upcoming web series, Bollywood dreams and more

Bhuvan Bam in BRO COURT, new web series on Happii-Fi, the digital initiative of SABGROUP

Youtube sensation Bhuvan Bam, after becoming a rage on the social media, is all set to carry the fever forward with his upcoming web series titled, Bro Court. In an exclusive conversation, he speaks about his background, growing digitalisation and his love for acting and music. Excerpts from the interview…

From creating one of the most watched and talked about Youtube channel to being part of a web series, how does it feel?
It feels good and I am really excited. Independent content creators can actually get in touch with big shots in the industry.

Tell us something about Bro Court.
Bro Court is not like any other web series. It is very different and exciting. It is an out and out humorous take on situations that one can encounter in hostel life and what students especially engineering came across in their daily lives… classically defined characters and situations.

Tell us something about your character in the series.
I am playing the lead role of the judge in this court where all those who violate the Bro Codes need to be served justice are brought to Bro Court and judgements are announced using references from the Bro Vidhaan– a pre-defined guidelines on how to deal with situations.

How were you approached for the role?
I got a call from the channel and they told me that they are coming up with their digital channel called happii-fi. They wanted me to fly down to Mumbai. Then they told me about Bro Court, gave me narration and the script and I was in.

How was your experience shooting for the web series?
It was a sense of pure nostalgia. It was really fun reliving our college days. I feel most of us will definitely relate to it some or the other way.

Youtube sensation Bhuvan Bam, after becoming a rage on the social media, is all set to carry the fever forward with his upcoming web series titled, Bro Court. In an exclusive conversation, he speaks about his background, growing digitalisation and his love for acting and music. Excerpts from the interview…

From creating one of the most watched and talked about Youtube channel to being part of a web series, how does it feel?
It feels good and I am really excited. Independent content creators can actually get in touch with big shots in the industry.

Tell us something about Bro Court.
Bro Court is not like any other web series. It is very different and exciting. It is an out and out humorous take on situations that one can encounter in hostel life and what students especially engineering came across in their daily lives… classically defined characters and situations.

Tell us something about your character in the series.
I am playing the lead role of the judge in this court where all those who violate the Bro Codes need to be served justice are brought to Bro Court and judgements are announced using references from the Bro Vidhaan– a pre-defined guidelines on how to deal with situations.

How were you approached for the role?
I got a call from the channel and they told me that they are coming up with their digital channel called happii-fi. They wanted me to fly down to Mumbai. Then they told me about Bro Court, gave me narration and the script and I was in.

How was your experience shooting for the web series?
It was a sense of pure nostalgia. It was really fun reliving our college days. I feel most of us will definitely relate to it some or the other way.

What thoughts went behind creating BB Ki Vines and what triggers your content?
The content of BB Ki Vines came naturally to me. The initial videos I posted made me realise what kind of content people like. People really loved what I was doing.

You are seen donning various avatars in your videos. Tell us something about them?
Most of the characters I play in my videos are inspired by the people I see or meet in my day-to-day life. Some of them are fictional.

Do you have any Bollywood aspirations? If yes, what kind of movies would you like to be part of?
Yes, I definitely want to try my hands in Bollywood. I would love to be part of any comedy or a thriller movie.

Are you open to offers from television?
No, I am not actually thinking about television right now.

With the fast growing digitalisation, producers and filmmakers are exploring the digital space. In that case, would you still want to make your way towards big screen or are you in your happy space?
For now, after BB Ki Vines my next step is definitely going to be web series. I am really looking forward to Bro Court. It is really amazing to see so many web series coming out. It is definitely going to change the face of digital media.

What are the advantages and challenges of digital media, according to you?
This is the age of digitalisation and this revolution is fast catching up. You cannot carry your television everywhere. We gradually shifted from cassettes to CDs, similarly we need to shift from television to web. We should continue making new stuff and put it on the web and promote it well. Digital content needs promotion.
Bollywood and television needs comparatively less promotion than web as it is still in its initial stage. Now gradually, in next ten years, I feel digital media is going to surpass television.

Youtubers around the world have created an altogether different space for themselves. Is there anyone you look up to?
There are so many youtubers around the world and they all are doing a wonderful job. When I started my channel, I definitely looked up to the Viral Fever Videos.

Tell us something about your background.
I am 22-years-old and I did my graduation from Bhagat Singh college, New Delhi. I am a musician as well.

Tell us about your love for music.
I love to compose and sing songs. Among the musical instruments, I can play piano and guitar.

Have you tried your hands in singing?
I have done a music video by the name ‘Teri Meri kahani’.

What excites you more, acting or singing?
Anything that would make me happy and entertain people.

Leave a Reply

