Raool: I am here to create a movement

5 February 2017

Raool speaks about his upcoming single, current music scenario of Bollywood and more

CKHVagwm

UK born, Australia raised and a complete desi at heart, Raool is a music director, composer and a lyricist. After being the rapper behind Abhishek Bachchan’s rocking performance in Housefull 3 and DJ Bravo’s Rao in Tum Bin 2, he is all set to make a mark with his upcoming single titled, Desi Girls Do It Better. It also features Punjabi superstar Jaz Dhami. Excerpts from the interview…

What inspired you to come up with such theme based song?
When it comes to making a track paying homage to the women of our great nation, inspiration comes easy because their charm, brilliance and accomplishments are obvious and in abundance. You only have to take a quick look around, Priyanka Chopra, Deepika Padukone, business woman like Indra Nooyi and Rona Kotecha, sports women like the Phoghat sisters and Saina Nehwal, stop rape/acid attack campaigner Laxmi Agarwal the list is endless.

We have heard that you had composed the song about three years ago. It took long enough to reach its audience.
In recent times, there have been many shameful cases involving women facing gross disrespect from men. I figured that even though it may be only a small contribution, this would be the right time to respect, celebrate and recognise our desi girls in an attempt to help build respect. I also wanted the song to serve as a reminder that there are many men like Jaz and I do recognise our desi girls, the women of this great nation as the pillars of our society that they truly are.

How was your experience collaborating with Jaz Dhami?
Jaz and I have been friends for a number of years. He’s the finest Desi vocalist we have in the UK and is incredibly versatile. There isn’t any other vocalist I could imagine on this track and I am extremely grateful to be making my launch as a composer and rapper with him.

What do you think about the current Bollywood music scenario?
The Bollywood music scene is at an exciting crossroad at the moment – there is some great western integration and clever experimentation of sound that keeps our music moving forward. At the same time though, it is a real shame that there is currently a heavy focus on the re-creation of old songs as an attempt to guarantee a hit.

The Rap as a genre is currently in the limelight in India but is yet to gain importance, unlike the scenario in the west. Your views on the same?
I think hip-hop in India is gaining importance every day and there are some fantastic artists who also lyric focused and are connecting with their audience in a big way.

You are yet to explore the music space in Bollywood fully. How do you intend to go about it?
As a composer I have nearly 16 tracks completed featuring some of the biggest of playback singers for which I am incredibly grateful. I’m sure it won’t be much longer until you hear them.

Tell us something about your background.
I’m UK Born, Australia raised and London based but phir bhi dil hai Hindustani! Add to that I am a proud Gujarati and I believe, I am the first Gujju rapper/composer in India.

Tell us something about your future projects.
Watch out for my next single coming by early April. This one is definitely a club banger. It’s easy to say ‘I’m different from the rest’, but I am here to prove it. I am here to create a movement, one that I want to create with my fans for the fans, where the young get inspired, and to make history within my generation.

Leave a Reply

