Aparshakti: Aamir Khan is an institution in himself!

2 January 2017

Aparshakti Khurrana speaks about garnering praises for his performance in the latest film starring the superstar

AparshaktiKhurana

After his successful debut in Aamir Khan’s latest wrestling drama Dangal, Aparshakti Khurrana is on cloud nine. From being a Radio Jockey to anchoring shows to showcasing his acting prowess, the star brother has definitely come a long way. In a candid chat, he speaks about his experience shooting with a superstar, the kind of roles he would love to play and more… Excerpts from the interview…

You have won accolades from many for your performance in Dangal which happens to be your first film. How does it feel?
I am on top of the world. Honestly, things could not have been better. It is such a tailor-made situation and God has been very kind to me. I feel very honoured to be part of this project.

How did you bag the film?
Mukesh Chabra’s team was auditioning in Delhi and I tried my hand. I got a call from them after four-five months. By the time I had auditioned for yet another film so I thought they had called me for that but it was for Dangal. It is a big deal for any actor to bag a role in such a film at the beginning of his career. I don’t know how I would be able to match up to the bench mark or standard I have created for myself in future but it sure is a great deal for me. Also because I am someone who has been living in Delhi for past four-five years, I don’t even live in Mumbai. I am a RJ on a radio station. People have only heard me and barely seen me. So it is definitely a special feeling.

How was it working with Aamir Khan?
Aamir Khan sir is an institute in himself. Having said tha, Aamir sir, Kiran ma’am, Nitesh Tiwari sir and everybody else on the set, we were like a family. And it is pretty evident. And I am very happy to be part of this family.

Did you have any apprehensions before or while shooting for the film?
Whenever you share screen space with such a huge actor, obviously you feel a little jittery. It had such a huge star cast and it was also one of the most anticipated films of the year. So there was some added pressure but hopefully I was able to do justice to the role I played. Aamir sir was there to guide us throughout and we were all on the same page always. I am extremely happy that people have accepted this film like how!

Was there any preparation that you had to do for the film?
I was called from Delhi to Mumbai where I had some rehearsals and then there were some Haryanvi classes that I undertook.

You are playing a negative role in your first film. Do you fear of getting stereotyped?
It is too early to feel that. I have just started my career. It will take some more films for me to do to get stereotyped. I don’t know where God is going to take me. I just hope I fall into the hands of the right people, like I just did. I would be more than happy to be part of good films.

What kind of roles would you want to do?
I am an actor and a performer. I will do whatever my director wants me to do.

You are a Radio Jockey; you have anchored shows and now acting. What do you enjoy doing the most?
I enjoy radio the most. It is a very amazing medium. People don’t know who you are or what you look like. It is now because of social media that people know you by your face. But otherwise, it feels amazing that people know you by your voice. There is a voice that calls you up everyday. Some call you when they are struck in traffic, some call you in the middle of the night, and some call you when they have a break-up while some other call to confess something. There is special bond that you form with your audience and this no other field can give you.

Do you turn to your brother, Ayushmann for advice when it comes to films?
Whatever I have learnt, it is from him. I am very happy that I have a brother like him to guide me.

Now that you have started your journey in Bollywood, what kind of films would you lie to be part of?
I want to films that are real and characters that can touch people’s lives, something that the audiences fall in love with.

Do you have some inclination towards music as well?
Ayushmann’s last video, ‘Ek vaari haan keh de’ was co-written and co-composed by both of us. I am working on my second track now. It is a love song but I cannot divulge into much details for now.

Tell us something about your future projects.
There is Dharma production’s Badrinath Ki Dukhaniya coming up and I have a special cameo in it. The special appearance is really going to be special because the director and Varun Dhawan are like my brothers.

Leave a Reply

